Vampire Legends of the world: Lugat

The Lugat is a vampire from Albania; sometimes it may be referred to as the Kukuthi. This vampire grows stronger with time, until about 30 years, when it reaches its full stage. At this point, in its life, the Lugat no longer has to return to the grave during the day, and can live in a home.

The vampire does not kill its victims, but takes small amounts of blood for days or weeks at a time. The bite from a Lugat can leave a spiritual or psychological strain on the victim, that can cause the victim to develop a bloodlust of its own.

Before the Lugat reaches its advanced stage, it can be destroyed by driving a stake through its heart, cutting the tendons behind the knee, and cremation. Some stories say that if a wolf bites off the vampire’s legs, it will return to its grave and never return.

The Lugat vampire is a traditional vampire that can shape shift in different forms, but unlike many vampire stereotypes, the Lugat does not have any fangs. The vampire makes a bite and sucks the blood from the wound.

(Curtsey of Vampire Underworld)

In the Blood cloak series a Lugat is a subclass of vampire that places their victims in a trance and drinks the blood while still awake. Though they can go up to a year without feeding, it’s very uncomfortable and can even cause hallucinations. With enough self control, they can break the connection to a victim. A lugat who could not break the connection started the black plague. Lugats in Scarlet’s Moon include rose, Lily and Daphodil.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s